Pencil Sketch – Ardhanarishvara

Moments I would like to remember:

Before I have started working on this new painting I have planned to take the sketches that I have done so far to my home.  I was having 4 paintings and I have decided to take everything to home in a single go (which I realized how bad an idea later on 😀 ). Somehow I managed to tie everything in a single package with help of my Bro (roommate) and it felt little heavy to carry. Still, with some stupid courage I have taken it with me itself instead of going for a courier service (I was worried that it may get damaged).

While traveling it felt as if I’m doing weight lifting all the way 😀 I would have felt lot happier if my muscles got little bulged with that effort though, because immediately after reaching home first word my mom said was “Look at you, you lost some weight, aren’t you eating properly there”. I was like 😦  I wonder whether mom’s are always like this. Even if I will weight in 80s, I think still she will say I lost some weight ^o). Whatever!!! I felt lot happier for seeing her after a month. Got myself refreshed and had a good breakfast of my mom’s preparation. Later, everyone sat in hall and had a look at the paintings. It was fun and that weekend booked a place in my memory book 🙂

About this new painting, I wanted to do this on a bigger sheet and went for an A1 size white chart. Since the sheet is bigger, I felt it will take few weeks to complete the work and it will be tough to maintain the chart without any damage that long. Hence I have taken it to a photo frame shop, where shop owner (who is my friend now, and I simply call him as “Anna” means Brother in Tamil language 🙂 ) glued that chart to a chart board, then he told me to put some weight over it for all night otherwise it will get bend.  I just kept it under the bed with some weight over (it was me 😉 ) for all night and the chart is ready by morning.

It was a weekend when I started to paint this picture, and I did the borders first for this one. I was spending at least 4 hours a day for sketching this and it kept coming :). It just felt as if I’m playing a video game where the targets are kept coming and I have to hit it all. Meanwhile, I have grown very dense beard and my colleagues started mocking me to get a nice Kurta and Jolna bag hence I’ll give a good artist look :D. At least that’s how some of the yester year movies have portrayed the Artists (I had to trim it though, since my birthday came on Aug 10th 😀 )

This picture took nearly a month and I had to be lot patient to complete this work. On my opinion, it came really good. Hope this art will give same feel for you too 🙂

Happy Independence Day :):):) and cheers!

Materials Used:

1. A1 size drawing sheet

2. Camlin drawing pencils,

  • 2H -> Very light shades
  • 4H, 2B -> Medium light shades
  • 5B -> Borders
  • 6B -> Dark shades
  • 9B -> Very dark shades

Drawing Samples:

7 responses

  1. Yashwini

    Awwweeeesome Srini ..

    August 13, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  2. hariharan V V R

    super da 🙂

    August 13, 2012 at 9:12 pm

  3. Rema

    u are a wonderful artist. mind blowing. u should take this talent of urs more seriously.. very nice..

    August 14, 2012 at 8:27 am

  4. Hemalatha Damodaran

    Very Nice and neat work.Awesome ….

    August 14, 2012 at 8:40 am

  5. Thanks friends 🙂

    August 17, 2012 at 10:50 am

  6. Prakash Karuppusamy

    Superb da… Romba nalla irukku.. Trillion likes 🙂 …

    October 9, 2012 at 10:07 pm

  7. Ramya Raj

    wonderful work

    January 14, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

